Blogging the 2017 Grammys Category 25 – Best Rap Album

4:44 JAY-Z

Jay-Z fooled around on Beyonce, now he’s sorry. Has he ever been interesting? Throughout this thing he gives investment advice, apologizes to his wife, and what else? He has a song about watching his wife on the Super Bowl. I think that’s what it’s about. Would you rather be old rich me or new you? Don’t be Eric Benet. Steve Harvey. I think. I hope this doesn’t win.

DAMN. Kendrick Lamar

Everybody loves Kenrick Lamar. George Clinton was on his lat album. U2 is on this one. Hello old man, why don’t you like this, or even find any value in it? Are you too old? Has music passed you by? Nah, you like lots of new music. You just don’t understand this or like it. DNA. gets me bobbing my head a little. Is that what you’re supposed to do? He has a punk-sounding voice. A real John Lydon sneer. Let me sit back and see if old man will enjoy any of this while I eat a waffle. I hear Geraldo. My earbuds can’t handle the bass. I like this better than I did the first time. I like HUMBLE. ok. I prefer the clean versions of these songs. Not a big fan of the B word and N word and any of the words. Tired. I don’t get it. Poor Me.

Culture Migos

Everything is so slow. The hihat sounds like a aprinkler. They are rich now. Everyone underestimated Migos. Look at Migos now. They are rich and they are nominated for a Grammy. They have an Uzi. They have a blunt in the ashtray. They use elipses in their rhymes. Dot dot dot. They have a reverb unit. This is so boring. I don’t get it.

Laila’s Wisdom Rapsody

I’ve been bankin’, check my balance. Out of these, I like this the most. Rapsody has a lot on her mind. She must have notebooks full of rhymes. It felt like this record would never end. There’s a P-Funk vibe on Power. There’s Kendrick Lamar! I listened to the clean version in the car with the family. I like it better than the explicit version. It’s still all pretty slow. Why doesn’t anyone get above 100BPM? Pay Up boosts the tempo a little. Sassy is cool and a little faster. I guess I should give up on there ever being another Tribe Called Quest. Why weren’t they nominated? Because Grammys.

Flower Boy Tyler, The Creator

I didn’t find one thing on this mess that I liked.

Leave a comment